Orchids and Weeds

Why do some people give their most valuable asset to people that don’t earn it? They’ll spend hours or days (sometimes longer!) trying to capture the attention of someone who gave them a few hours of their time. Someone who takes a week to email back. And they ignore the friends that are there for them. Time after time.

Maybe that’s my issue. I’m too dependable. If you call, I’m calling back. If you text, I’ll text back even if it’s a short text. If you e mail me, I have a 24 hour turnaround time rule. I guess that’s how I’ve been taught. If someone spends their most valuable asset, time, reaching out to me, they deserve the same respect.

Is it chic now to ignore people? Is that how you get someone clamoring to be your friend? If so, I guess I’ll just have less friends. Maybe I’m old fashioned but, you treat people how you want to be treated. It’s not “Do unto others before they do unto you”, it’s “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. Does that make me weird?

I have a few friends who are always astonished when their relationships end and they have no good friends. It’s because they disregard the people who have been there for them for the flavor of the week. And then get upset that their friends have moved on. What are we supposed to do? Sit around on our hands waiting for you to grant us a few moments of your precious time?

I guess, like so many things in today’s society, friends are a disposable commodity. There’s always a bigger, better friend around the corner. But it’s a sad statement on our society. A friend, a really good friend, is a gift. It’s like the most precious orchid. You have to give it time and attention to keep it alive.

I fear many people today are going to realize that their orchids died while they were watering their weeds.

One thought on “Orchids and Weeds”

Leave a Reply

